Mango-Ginger Tofu

Recipes like this one are the reason I’m so happy I took this challenge to cook an entire cookbook. I would never have tried this otherwise, because “I don’t like mangoes”. Well, you know what? Apparently I like mangoes!

It’s not that I haven’t tasted them before, it’s just that I kept trying raw mangoes and the texture put me off, which became a general don’t-like-mangoes statement which I held onto for way too long. Mangoes are readily available and actually quite popular here, but really only raw or in fruit smoothies, not in cooking, so I haven’t really gotten a chance to taste them that way. But this recipe totally convinced me to start cooking with mangoes! Which I’ll have to wait for next summer to actually do, haha…

mango_tofu.JPG

The tofu was excellent. We took our usual shortcuts for marinated tofu which always make it a much simpler process: we don’t press the tofu and don’t let it sit in the marinade. It’s coated in the marinade and goes straight to the oven. I swear you cannot tell the difference. At least we can’t. And the sauce! It was so great! We had a whole jar of it leftover and we ate it for a week with everything we were having – seitan, rice, etc. I could not get enough of this stuff. I bookmarked the recipe and am (impatiently) waiting for next summer to make ALL THE SAUCE.

Leave a comment